Ladybrille® Blogazine


Tuesday, May 26, 2009

David Downton, Martine and Prosper Asouline Honored at the School of Fashion at Academy of Art University in San Francisco.

The San Francisco Academy of Art University, California recently honored Martine and Prosper Assouline, founders of Assouline Publishing, and world renowned fashion illustrator David Downton, at the school’s Graduation Fashion Show held ending of last month. The honorees received Doctorates of Humane Letters for their contribution to the world of Art and Design, from the University president Dr. Elisa Stephens.

“Each year we select honorees who have made an outstanding contribution to the fashion industry and from whom students are able to learn,” explained Dr. Stephens. “We are delighted to have two of the most influential leaders in the publishing world as well as one of the most highly respected fashion illustrators.”

Prior to the graduation ceremony, guests met the students during a Q&A panel discussion and at the static exhibition where graduates presented their portfolios before the fashion show. In addition, Downton visited drawing studios where he worked directly with Fashion Illustration students. At the show, after the honorees received their degrees, the graduating class showed their designs and subsequently, the honorees announced their choices for interns for their respective fashion companies. As part of the ceremony, the school also announced its winners for the French Exchange Scholarships.

The winners/recipients for all awards are: Assouline Internship-Anika Brown for New York and Gena Banducci for Paris. 2009 French Exchange Scholarship-Elizabeth Siedow going to L’Ecole de la Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne, Dee Larsen going to L’Ecole de la Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne and Natalia Carorina going to Studio Berçot. [Both institutions are two of the best schools in Paris] Bridget Miranda Sidden also going to Studio Berçot. David Downton-first place Rachel Sansom,second place Tsz Ting ‘Christina’ Ho and third place, Aliza Kim.

Past honorees of the School of Fashion has included Rosita and Tai Missoni (1999), Oscar de la Renta (2000),Rose Marie Bravo (2001), Zandra Rhodes CBE and Koos van den Akker (2002), Josie Natori and Fern Mallis (2003), Joan Kaner and Jeremy Scott (2004), Azzedine Alaïa and Carla Sozzani (2005), Alexander McQueen, Christophe Girard, Robert Mettler and Wilkes Bashford (2006), Dame Vivienne Westwood DBE, Loulou de la Falaise, Robin Givhan and Zac Posen (2007), Ralph Rucci and James Galanos (2008).

Legendary Philanthropist Denise Hale and Patrick Cabasset, editor in chief of L’Officiel Paris magazine
L-R:Sonya Molodetskaya Willie Brown Denise Hale
Martine Assouline and one of the two Assouline interns chosen, Anika Brown.

~Photos by Randy Brooke


Theme images by Jason Morrow. Powered by Blogger.

© 2007-2017 Ladybrille® Blogazine, All Rights Reserved.

Designed by ScreenWritersArena